Personalise your experience

Get the latest insights relevant to your sector.

Meeting window view (when content is not being shared)

  •   Menu Toolbar - access to Meeting Centre tools and functions
  •   Meeting Tabs - what you’re looking at in the meeting - Quick Start, Meeting Info, and Shared Content
  •   Shared Content Viewer - when someone is sharing content - a presentation, document, video files, whiteboards, etc. — this is where it will appear when its 'Meeting Tab' is selected
  •   Quick Start - visible when 'Quick Start' meeting tab is selected. It provides access to commonly used functions: Audio Connection, Sharing Content, and Inviting & Reminding
  •   Panel(s) Displayed - content - Participants, Chat, etc. - selected and displayed in 'Panels'
  •   Panels - provides areas for Chat, Polling, Q&A, Participants, etc., selected for display.

Use the Participants Panel

Icons in and below the Participants Panel let you control your audio and video, as well as to interact with other attendees. If you’re the meeting host, some functions are available by right-clicking with your mouse.

In the Participants Panel:

Click this ...            To do this ...

       Start / stop sending your video

       Mute / unmute your audio

       Raise / lower your hand

With the computer mouse:

If you’re the host, you can also right-click a participant's name to display some functions.

Share Content

You can access options for sharing content during your meeting from the ‘Share’ menu or from the sharing panel on the 'Quick Start' tab.

Select this ... To share this ...
My Screen Share everything on your computer screen
File (including video) To share a file that doesn't need editing during the meeting, such as a PowerPoint presentation
Application To share a file that needs editing during the meeting. Meeting attendees can view the application even if not installed on their computers
Whiteboard To share a blank work area where you can collaborate with other meeting participants using both text and graphics tools. You need to grant annotation privileges to other participants to give access to the tools
Web Browser To share a website where you guide the participants to various web pages, but where media effects, video, and sound are not playable
Multimedia To share a URL so participants can interact with the web page content independently, and experience the media effects, video, and sound from the website
Remote Computer If you're traveling and want to demonstrate a software application that's only licensed to your office computer, share files or applications that are located on a remote computer. Make sure you have installed the Access Anywhere agent on it
My Meeting Window Your host view of the entire meeting window. Close any private chat conversations before sharing your meeting window.

To allow anyone to share:

If you’re the meeting host, you can let anyone share during the meeting without making them a presenter.

Click ‘Participants’ in the menu bar, then select ‘Anyone Can Share’. The 'Make Presenter' button is greyed out and any meeting participant can share using any of the available sharing options.

Use Annotation Tools

You can give participants access to annotation tools when you schedule your meeting, or while the meeting’s in progress.

  • Click an annotation tool to turn it on. Click again to turn the tool off.

 Click to show the annotation tool when you're sharing content. Or on the Controls panel at the top of the screen, select 'Annotate'. To hide the annotation tool, select ‘Annotate’ again

 Allow a specific participant to annotate by pressing the right arrow key and then selecting the participant's name

 Use the pointer to draw attention to specific points on the Colour is assigned when joining a session. Click, then select 'Arrow Pointer’ or ‘Laser Pointer’

  Use the text tool to add text. After typing, click to display the text to participants. Change the colour by selecting from the colour palette

Use the line tool to draw straight lines. Change the colour by selecting from the colour palette. Click, then select a line type. Drag your mouse to draw

 Use the shape tool to draw squares, rectangles, ovals or circles, and to add check or X marks. Change the colour by selecting from the colour palette. Click, then select a shape or mark type

 Use the pen tool to draw freehand. Change the colour by selecting from the colour palette. Click, then select ‘Pen’ or ‘Pencil’

 Click to open the colour palette, then select a colour for the text, line shape or pen tools. The selected colour is used the next time you select the tool

 Click to select the eraser tool, then click on the annotation you want to erase. Or, click and select an option to clear pointers or annotations

 Save your annotations.

Example of annotated whiteboard

Use Video

Participants can share and view video during a meeting.

To start and stop your video:

Click the video camera icon in the participants panel. The icon turns green, and your video feed appears at the top of the participants panel. Click the camera icon again to stop your video.

Video options

You can control video settings, as well as switch between cameras connected to your computer, by clicking the ‘Set Video Options’ icon beneath the participants panel. The 'Video Options' box appears.

Video view and list view

To see the thumbnail images of other panelists' video, move your mouse over your video, then select ‘View video thumbnails’.

Full Screen Mode

  •  To expand the video image to full-screen mode, move your mouse over the video, then select ‘View all participants in full-screen view’
  •  To leave full-screen mode, click ‘Exit Full-Screen View’.

Record your meeting

The network-based recorder captures screen activity and audio on a Webex recording server. The server processes your recorded data, and then sends the recording file to your personal recordings folder on your Webex service site.

Recorded files are saved in the Advanced Recording Format (.arf) - a proprietary Webex format.

To use the recorder:

  1. start your meeting
  2. to start your recording:
  • if the Quick Start page is displayed, click ‘Record’, or
  • on the 'Meeting' menu, select ‘Start Recording’, or
  • click the ‘Recorder’ icon in the icon tray above the participants panel
  1. once a connection is established, the recorder panel opens and recording begins

  1. click the ‘Pause’ button when you want to stop recording briefly, and click it again to re-start
  1. click the ‘Stop’ button to end the recording completely. You’re prompted to confirm that you want to stop recording

Note: A new recording is created each time you stop recording and start again. If you pause and resume recording using the ‘Pause’ button, only one recording is created. Navigate to ‘My Webex’ > ‘My Files’ > ‘My Recordings’ to access your recordings after the meeting ends.

Muting and unmuting participants

Hosts can mute themselves, individuals, or all participants in three ways:

  1. right-click the participant's name and select ‘Mute
  2. select the participant's name from the participant list and then select ‘Mute’ from the participant menu
  3. select the participant's name and click the ‘Mute’ button.

Once the participant is muted, a 'Muted' icon appears: 
 

You can unmute participants in two ways:

  1. right click any participant and select ‘Unmute’ or ‘Unmute All’
  2. select a participant and then select ‘Unmute’ or ‘Unmute All’ from the participant menu.

Note: Participants can mute and unmute themselves following the instructions above.

Hosts can also set their Webex conference to mute participants on entry into the conference:

  1. select ‘Mute on Entry’ from the ‘Participantmenu to mute participants as they join.

Expel unwanted participants

Hosts can expel unwanted participants from their Webex meetings:

  1. select the participant to be expelled
  2. select ‘Expel’ from the ‘Participant’ menu
  3. you’ll be asked to confirm that you wish to expel the participant. The participant will be expelled from both the audio and Webex sessions.

Lock / unlock a meeting

If you have back-to-back meetings or need privacy, lock the meeting once all attendees have joined. This will stop additional attendees from joining.

Hosts can lock / unlock the meeting at any time while the session is in progress. To lock a meeting, select ‘Lock Meeting’ from the Meeting menu, or click the ‘Lock Room ‘icon on the 'Quick Start' tab.

When locked, a 'locked' icon is displayed in lower left corner of the screen:

To unlock a meeting, select ‘Meeting’ > ‘Unlock Meeting’ or click the 'Unlock .

Help desk phone numbers

Please browse our guides and if you can't resolve your questions, contact one of our global helpdesk advisers.