Personalise your experience

Get the latest insights relevant to your sector.

Webex Teams

General faqs

Webex Meetings is a virtual meeting place where you can meet with others in real-time. It can be used directly from your web browser, or through the app on your computer and mobile device. Its role is to mimic what would happen in a physical meeting room.

Webex Teams goes beyond the meeting itself. Webex Teams integrates the whole collaboration experience, before, during and after meetings. It lets you create groups for shared interests, post and find documents previously shared, draft and send messages, create and review whiteboards. You get the same experience whether you use it on your windows PC, Mac or mobile device.

A Space is a place for a group of people to work together, where their focus is narrow and specific. Everyone who’s part of that space is involved in all its aspects. Spaces might be used for short- and long-term projects. But, if the original intention changes and grows, you can move the Space into a Team.

A Team is a place that helps you keep everything organised by putting multiple spaces under a common theme. Teams are ideal for a consistent group of people who are going to be working for a long time on something that might be complicated and involve a lot of activities, or could be sub-projects happening at the same time. Every team has at least one space called General, where everybody invited to the team is also added too. As a Team member, you can view and join all spaces in the team, create new Spaces and invite others to join.

Cisco Spark became Webex Teams — an app for continuous teamwork with video meetings, messaging, file sharing and whiteboarding.

Yes, you're not limited to communicating only with people within your organisation. If you're working with other people, such as vendors or customers, you can invite them to collaborate with you in the Webex Teams app.

Spaces that include external participants can be identified with this icon.

Clicking on this icon will show you who they are and their email address. You’ll also notice that the border around the message area has changed to the same colour as the external participant’s icon.

If you forgot your Webex Teams password, you can request a new temporary password be emailed to you.

Go to https://teams.webex.com, then enter your email address, choose ‘Next’, then select ‘Forgot password’. You’ll receive an email with a ‘Reset Password’ link. Follow the instructions to reset your password.          

Note: if your organisation uses Single Sign On (SSO) to sign into Webex Teams, you'll need to contact your administrator to reset your password.

There is a 5,000-participant limit for spaces in Cisco Webex Teams.

Go to the Webex Teams app, click the ‘Meetings’ icon on the left side of the screen and click the ‘My Personal Room’ button on top of the screen.

Different Spaces have different meeting capabilities, depending on the type of account held by the organiser.

In Spaces where the organiser has a free account, up to 3 people can attend your meeting.

In Spaces where the organiser has a paid account, up to 100 people can attend your meeting, but it depends on the subscription (in some case it can be 25, 40 or 75 for example).

The easiest way is to create a Space where you invite the team calendar. You do this by entering its address, as well as all people having access to that team calendar. Then just create the meeting directly from that Space. 

Yes, you can change your meeting to another time and send an update to all from your work calendar App (like Outlook for example) if:

  • your Webex administrator has set up your account with the Cisco Webex Hybrid Calendar Service
  • you’re the original organiser of that meeting.

The autocorrect language in Webex Teams may be set incorrectly. Click your profile picture, then ‘Settings’ and ‘General’. Under ‘Spell Check’, select the language you mostly use.

Your audio settings haven’t been configured for your specific needs. To correct them:

  • click the profile picture, then ‘Settings’ and ‘Audio’
  • if people hear you very faint, under ‘Microphone’ select in the drop-down menu the device you want to use as microphone if you hear people through the computer speaker instead of your headset, under ‘Speaker’ in the drop-down menu, select your headset
  • if you don’t hear incoming calls, under ‘Ringer’ make sure the system default is selected. You might also want to check under ‘Notifications’ to make sure the direct calls notifications haven’t been switched off.

Yes. Click your profile picture, then ‘Settings’ and ‘Video’. Under ‘Camera’, in the drop-down menu, select the webcam you want to use.

Note: make sure the webcam you want to use is connected to your computer and not being used by another application. 

You can change the Webex Teams interface to have a higher contrast or a darker visual. Click your profile picture, then ‘Settings’ and ‘Appearance’ to select your preferred theme.

Anyone can start a meeting in a Space at any time they choose.

Anyone can record a meeting if:

  • the Space owner has a paid account

    or
  • in the case the Space owner has a free account, it’s a Space with only 2 people and the 2nd person has a paid account.

No. You can schedule a meeting in advance if needed, but you can also have ad-hoc (non-scheduled) meetings whenever you need. These are called Calls.

In a Space, to start an ad-hoc meeting, click the ‘Activity Menu’ then select ‘Call ‘'

To find documents, messages and spaces click the ‘Search’ bar and enter your search term. As you type, Webex Teams will present search results grouped into spaces, messages and files to help you pinpoint what you are looking for.

You can also use the ‘Refine your search’ functionality and click:

  • ‘In:’ to find something in a specific space
  • ‘From:’ to search messages or content sent by a specific person.

Simply go to the space it was created in, click the ‘Activity Menu’ on the top right corner, then select ‘Whiteboard’ . Now you can see all the Whiteboards that have been created in this space.

A Space gets deleted when all members leave it, including you. People can choose to leave, or you can remove people if you're the moderator or the space is unmoderated. After a Space is deleted, the messages and shared files are also deleted.

A Team cannot be deleted, but if you're the moderator of the Team, you can archive it, so no one can use it anymore.

In an announcement Space, only moderators, bots, and integrations can post to it. Everyone else can read the announcements, view files, and join meetings. System messages that show when people join, leave a Space or delete messages still display too. To turn on announcement mode, if moderation has been switched on, click next to the space name and select ‘Turn on announcement mode’.

If the Space is unmoderated, or you are the moderator, you can remove people from the Space. When you remove someone from a Space, their content remains visible, based on your organisation’s data retention policy.

You can change any Space name except for the automatically created team Space named ‘General’. And any member can change these details unless the Space is moderated. If the Space is moderated, then only the moderator can change the name.

Yes, it doesn’t matter if you are using your desktop app or the mobile app: all your resources (files, whiteboards, chats and meetings) are synchronised and accessible at any time.

Help desk phone numbers

Please browse our guide and if you can't resolve your questions, contact one of our global helpdesk advisers.